New to Hatfield

We live in an age of greater social mobility so people are coming and going all the time. However, the East of England Plan suggests far more people will be coming to Hatfield than going – for the next few years at least. If you're one of them, welcome to Hatfield.


Emergency Services – Police, Fire and Ambulance

Hopefully, you won't need any of the emergency services but if you're in a life-threatening situation dial 999 (the operator will direct you to the control room of the relevant service).

For less demanding situations the information below may help.



Hatfield comes under the Hertfordshire Constabulary. The Hatfield Police Station and courts are now housed in the former de Havilland Aircraft Company buildings on the old airfield.


Hatfield Police Station
Comet Way
AL10 9SJ

Please note: the front counter is not manned 24-hours – usually only till 23:00 hours (except on Sundays).

For non-emergency calls they can be reached on 101 or 01707 354000.

More information is available on their web site:

You also have the option of reporting crimes to the charity Crimestoppers on 0800 555 111, where you do not have to give your name and you could be entitled to a cash reward.



Prevention is always better. The Fire Service is happy to provide advice on installing and maintaining smoke alarms and ways of keeping you and your family safe.


Hatfield Fire Station
Wellfield Road
AL10 0DA

Telephone: 01707 346900 (Fire Station)
01438 737399 (Fire Safety and Advice)
01992 507601 (Fire Service Recruitment Hotline)
Fax: 01707 346901



For medical emergencies, the East of England NHS Ambulance Trust provides the service for Hatfield. The Trust was created on 1 July 2006 by merging the three services covering Bedfordshire, Cambridgeshire, Essex, Hertfordshire, Norfolk and Suffolk.


East of England Ambulance Headquarters
Regent House
110 Northgate Street
Bury St. Edmunds
IP33 1HP

Please note: there is no Hatfield office – ambulances are based at strategic points. The nearest accident and emergency service at the QEII Hospital, Welwyn Garden City is being relocated to Lister Hospital, Stevenage. There is also an aerial ambulance service.

For general medical advice or if you're wondering whether you need to call an ambulance telephone NHS Direct on 0845 46 47 48 or refer their web site:

If you need to find a doctor, dentist, hospital or other medical service
a directory of services is available on this NHS web site:
NHS Choices – your health, your choices.


Who does what – Local authorities in Hatfield

There are three local authorities (and two mayors) with responsibility for services and amenities in Hatfield:

Hatfield Town Council

It replaced the Hatfield Parish Council in 1988. Hatfield Parish (a parish originally was the area covered by a church, which became an administrative area as well) covers an area of 11,489 acres or 17.95 square miles. It stretches from the village of Newgate Street in the south to Lemsford Village in the north.

Hatfield Town Council is mainly responsible for looking after the recreational parks, public spaces and a few facilities like Rowe Hill and Oxlease House (the hall and a few others are available for hire).

Current mayor: Linda Clark (elected Wednesday, 8 May 2013)

Please note: Hatfield resembles London in that the town has two mayors – a town council mayor and a borough council mayor.

Registered offices:

Hatfield Town Council
Birchwood Leisure Centre

Telephone 01707 262023 or email:

More information is available on their web site: 


Welwyn Hatfield Borough Council

Originally created in 1973 as the Welwyn Hatfield District Council. It is the body to contact regarding issues like:

Council Tax

Council house repairs

Planning permission

Rubbish collection


Abandoned vehicles

Current mayor: Howard Morgan (elected Monday, 20 May 2013)

Please note: Hatfield resembles London in that the town has two mayors – a town council mayor and a borough council mayor. 

Registered offices:

Welwyn Hatfield Borough Council
The Campus
Welwyn Garden City

Telephone: 01707 357000 (general enquiries) or email:

More information is available on their web site:

Click here for information on electoral wards and councillors...



Hertfordshire County Council

This is the authority responsible for areas like:


Street lighting

Highways and road maintenance – including pavements and drainage

Schools and school admissions



Trading standards

Registration of births, deaths and marriages (there is an office in Hatfield – For details please see Births, Marriages and Deaths).

Registered offices:

Hertfordshire County Council
County Hall
Pegs Lane
SG13 8DQ

Telephone: 0300 123 4040

More information is available on their web site:

Citizens Advice Bureau logo, notice and stairsCitizens Advice Bureau

The Citizens Advice Bureau (CAB) started life as an emergency war service. On 4 September 1939 – the day after war was declared – the first 200 opened their doors. Today there are nearly 450 across the British Isles.

They are independently registered charities which provide free, independent, confidential and impartial advice to everyone on their rights and responsibilities on a wide range of subjects including finance, housing and family issues.

The Hatfield office is located in Queensway House. Access is either via the metal stairs by the side of Blockbuster or by using the entry phone located at the entrance closest to the Hatfield Public Library entrance.

1st Floor
Queensway House
AL10 0LW

01707 262607 Advice Line

Advice and information is also available via web sites operated by Citizens Advice (their parent body):

Please note: opening days and hours at the Hatfield branch are limited (at the time of writing: Mondays, Tuesdays and Thursdays). Details can be found on the notice by the stairs (shown in the photo) and on their Citizens Advice directory entry – Link.



National and European representation

Hatfield is represented at Westminster by the MP for Welwyn Hatfield.

The current Member of Parliament for Welwyn Hatfield is Grant Shapps (Conservative Party)

More information is available on his web site:


Hatfield comes under the Eastern England area which is represented at the European Parliament by seven MEPs:

Geoffrey Van Orden
Jeffrey Titford
Richard Howitt
Robert Sturdy
Andrew Duff
Christopher Beazley
Tom Wise 

Any of them could be contacted regardless of where their offices are or political party. However, as different MEPs sit on different committees it is naturally better to contact those who are more involved in the issue being raised.

More information is available on their web site:


Some things to consider before moving to Hatfield

Click here for more...


Some things to consider while in Hatfield

Click here for more...


Hot topics for Hatfield

Click here for more...


Top ^


Copyright © 2009, 2012 D H Markus. All rights reserved. No liability is accepted for the accuracy of information in this site.